top of page
  • Writer's pictureHyzie

The Last Sun Audiobook Review


This was so much fun.


I honestly picked it up on sale quite a bit ago and it's been sitting on my Kindle for ages waiting for me to listen to it. I downloaded it, which tells me that after buying it I was excited, but I'm easily distracted and I read almost everything and I just forgot to start it.


That was such a dumb choice.


Rune, our main character, was sassy and slightly damaged and just trying to live in this strange world of tarot houses and New Atlantis and magic and prophecies and somehow modernity.


That last one I did not expect. When the story started and it felt really modern, I was confused. The action kicked in too quickly for me to feel confused long, admittedly (or at least not confused about that, and honestly I can't imagine it set in any other time or place. I loved the hinted-at ancient history and I'd love to see that explored. I want to know more about Atlantis, more about the Tarots, more about everything.


I also really want to see more of Rune. His relationship with Brand is definitely friendship goals: you can tell they would die for each other but at the same time they never quite let off teasing each other. It's fun to read and feels real. The romance grew on me very hard and by the end I was completely sold. I wasn't sure when our romantic interest was introduced (I liked him but I wasn't sure I liked him as the romantic interest), and it manages to feel real and remarkably healthy for a book romance while never taking over the book. It just adds to and explores the characters and makes you feel for them that much more. His mentor and unexpected-mentee are both interesting and I'm excited to see where that goes.


The ending provides some closure on a few things and a large chunk of open and interesting things to come. This story is done, but Rune's story is definitely not, and I can't wait to see where it goes.


I'll be picking up the next one (also there seems to be a free novella?) shortly, I think (or as shortly as I can manage given the fact that I'm easily distracted), because I want to spend more time with my newest book friends.


 

Rating: 4/5



2 views0 comments
bottom of page