top of page
  • Writer's pictureHyzie

Review: Babel, Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators’ Revolution


This was on the list of books I went back and forth on reading. The concept sounded interesting, but, to be quite frank, it also sounded potentially boring. I'm glad I did go ahead and read it.


I won't argue that it isn't slow (it is), but it hits that lovely academia feel that I so loved in The Historian (and that made me at least start grad school. Grad school is not actually like this for most people, alas.), and I found the entirety of Babel and Oxford itself charming. I understood why the characters got so caught up in the world, and I can't say I wouldn't have done exactly the same.


My problems with the novel (and the reason why, despite devouring it rather quickly, it is not a five star for me and I actually debated on giving it a three) are mostly the last half. Things pick up a bit there, but to the detriment of the feel of the book, even if it does serve the story.


The characters were interesting, and I did get attached to Robin, but they were held at arms' length by the text itself, which felt strange given how close we were told over and over that they were. All three of the other main characters in this adventure kept coming up with surprises late in the game that didn't feel like real surprises so much as "oh, somehow this character trait never came up at all despite everyone being best friends and oh-so-close," and that didn't feel great.


The magic system, though, was super neat. Watching pairs of words get traced through the lineage of history felt cool every time it was done, and it's not something I've seen before. I understood why the characters found it so enthralling, and that made it much easier for me to get excited about it.


There was a moment that was supposed to surprise us later in the novel that seemed too telegraphed for our theoretically very clever characters to have not seen. Maybe I was supposed to count on a relationship that had been built to make them feel blinded by it, but the relationship was never built to the point where I believed that.


The ending is a bit rough in that Robin seems to devolve into a different character rather quickly. I don't know that it is <i>wrong</i> that he does, given everything that happens (trying to speak around spoilers here), but the suddenness of it after the slow pace of a lot of the rest of the book felt bizarre. I didn't hate the ending, but it was not what I was hoping for and it didn't have the feeling of rightness that makes up for getting an ending you don't love. I'm not considering it a spoiler that something with the word "Revolution" in the title doesn't end perfectly cleanly.


Overall, I enjoyed this quite a bit, but more for the delights of watching a neat magic system get attached to a dark academia book than because things hung together perfectly. If that's your cup of tea, I do recommend this, but it's a soft four and if you are not up for footnotes and lots of discussion of how the empire is problematic (I mean, it definitely was, but there's a ton of coverage of it in here), it may be a bit slow.


 



Rating:






















4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page