top of page
  • Writer's pictureHyzie

Lirael Review


For all that Lirael in the library is some of my favorite stuff in the series, overall I feel like this is the weakest book of the trilogy, in large part because it is intended as a transition between the more straight-forward adventure story that was Sabriel and the more epic battle of Abhorsen. It does, however, do a good job of setting up the characters and giving hints at what is yet to come.

The Disreputable Dog and Mogget are probably my favorite characters in the series. They manage to be clearly magical creatures that fit into this world and can talk, and yet also very clearly act like a dog and a cat, respectively. Since I am re-reading it, I love all the hints about their pasts that I didn't understand the first time through.

It was not uncommon for librarians to lay down their lives for the benefit of the Clayr as a whole, either in dangerous research, simple overwork, or action against previously unknown dangers discovered in the Library's collection.

Lirael and the library of the Clayr is one of the most fun ideas I've ever seen. The idea of 'librarian' being one of the more dangerous jobs in a community--and quite rightly!--tickles my fancy to no small degree. I resent her leaving the library at least as much as she does. I also feel for her throughout quite a bit; having the Clayr blindfold her to lead her to and from the Observatory was heartbreaking.

I found Sam's story to be a bit more questionable. His hopeless naivete throughout is a little harder to deal with on a re-read than it was the first time through (or perhaps it is the fact that I am no longer an angsty teen myself), and he doesn't have as clear an ending arc as Lirael does. Much of my sympathy for him is due to the fact that were I forced into a position where I was supposed to spend my life waltzing through Death, I would also probably act like a huge, whiny, terrified baby. 

The arc of this particular book is very much a personal one for Sam and Lirael, which is part of why it feels out of place. There is no epic evil fought and defeated, no war won, no happy ending: it is about the two of them finding out who they are, both personally and in the grand scheme of things. 


 

Rating: 3/5



0 views0 comments
bottom of page